Albania

News Centre

Media Enquiries

The findings of the “Trust in Governance 2020” Opinion Poll were presented today in Tirana. They capture public perceptions on issues such as: trust in public institutions, institutional transparency and accountability, corruption, the level of citizen engagement in policy and decision-making, satisfaction with public service delivery, and enforcement of non-discriminatory laws and policies.

The “Trust in Governance 2020” Opinion Poll edition was conducted during November - December 2020, using a randomly selected nationally representative sample of 2500 respondents. This is its eighth annual edition employing a similar methodology, questionnaire and national coverage. The report on the opinion poll findings includes not only annual data but also a look at trends across the years. It provides for all actors in Albania opportunity for analysis and enacting improvements.

For most institutions in focus, including the central government, parliament and international institutions, the trend across the years shows that the level of trust increased between 2015 and 2017, but decreased between 2017 and 2020.

While the level of trust in the judicial system (prosecution and courts) has increased compared to 2017, these institutions are perceived often as least trustworthy.

The 2020 opinion poll findings show that religious institutions (69.8%) are considered as the most trusted domestic institutions, followed by educational institutions (54.1%), civil-society organisations (52.6%), and the armed forces (54.0%). International organisations like NATO, the UN and the EU, ranked as the most trusted institutions.

Considering the extraordinary circumstances due to the 2019 earthquake and the pandemic, this year the Trust in Governance Opinion Poll asked Albanian citizens about the government’s handling of both natural disasters. 37.9% of Albanians reported that they were satisfied with the central government’s initial post-earthquake response and 37.5% with that from the local government.

Meanwhile 40.3% reported that they were ‘satisfied’ or ‘very satisfied’ with the transparency of the central government’s decision-making, 43.7% said they were satisfied with the provision of online alternatives for obtaining services, and 34.5% with the respect for human rights and freedoms during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Trust in Governance opinion poll reveals that compared to 2019, the perceived transparency and accountability of central and local government increased. 34.6% of Albanians perceive the central government as transparent and 36.8% perceive their municipality as transparent. With regards to accountability, 34.5% of Albanians perceive the central government as accountable, while 36.6% perceives the municipality as accountable. Still, most Albanians does not perceive the government as transparent or accountable.

Albanian citizens believe that international organisations (74.5%) are more effective at holding the government to account than any domestic body. Among the latter the Supreme State Audit Institution (60.7%) ranks first followed by the Media (52.8%) and Parliament (48.1%).

Compared to 2016 and 2017, according to the finding, Parliament, Opposition Parties, the Ombudsman, and the Media are perceived as less effective in holding the government to account. Each of these accountability mechanisms has lost at least 10 p.p. compared to 2016.

Additionally, most Albanian citizens perceive petty corruption (86.7%) and grand corruption (84.1%) as widespread or very widespread phenomena in Albanian society. However, when asked whether they had a personal experience with corruption, in 2020, 22.7% of Albanians indicates that they have personally witnessed government corruption at the central level and 15.3% at the local level.

In terms of public service delivery, on average 38% of Albanians is satisfied or very satisfied with core public services in 2020, despite the restrictions of the pandemic. Public education services (48.6%) and street cleaning services (48.5%) were considered as most satisfactory, while the delivery of judicial services (19.6%), public transport (32.4%), and police services (32.6%) were perceived as least satisfactory.

With regards to administrative public services, perception by the general public varies based on actual usage, where on average 32.8% of Albanians rate their delivery as satisfactory, a number which increases to 44.7% among those who used those services. Meanwhile, 73.4% of citizens who have visited an ADISA service window (Agency for the Delivery of Integrated Services in Albania) were ‘satisfied’ or ‘very satisfied’ with the service provided there.

As regards gender in governance, most Albanian citizens (79.6%) say that women are just as capable as men in holding any public position. 85.2% among women respondents and 73.8% among men say so. Data also indicates that 62% of Albanians believe that an increased number of women in municipal councils would have a positive impact on local governance.

Mrs. Limya Eltayeb, UNDP Albania Resident Representative said that: “UNDP has supported the conduct of the Trust in Governance Opinion Poll from the onset in 2013 as a contribution to further the core values of transparency, accountability and civic engagement embodied by the Open Government Partnership, which Albania joined in December 2012. Instruments like the Trust in Governance Opinion Poll help understand better the challenges and drive the necessary changes, whether related to trust in institutions, anticorruption and sustaining continuing improvements in transparency and accountability, or promoting civic engagement towards the goal of co-creation..”

The Opinion Poll, initially launched in the framework of the Open Government Partnership, is carried out on an annual basis by the Institute for Democracy and Mediation (IDM) from 2013, with support by UNDP. The 2020 edition is carried out in the framework of the CSDA Project – “Consolidation of Citizen Centric Public Service Delivery in Albania”, a donor pool fund implemented by the Government of Albania in partnership with UNDP, and with Austrian Development Cooperation (ADC) as key contributor, together with UNDP.

Text in Albanian:

Prezantohen gjetjet e sondazhit “Besimi në Qeverisje 2020”

Sot u prezantuan në Tiranë gjetjet e sondazhit “Besimi në Qeverisje 2020”. Ato paraqesin perceptimin publik në çështje si: besimi në institucionet publike, transparenca dhe llogaridhënia institucionale, korrupsioni, niveli i përfshirjes qytetare në politikëbërje dhe vendimmarrje, kënaqshmëria me ofrimin e shërbimeve publike dhe zbatimi i ligjeve dhe politikave për mbrojtjen nga diskriminimi.  

Sondazhi “Besimi në Qeverisje 2020” u krye gjatë muajve nëntor-dhjetor 2020, duke përdorur një kampion përfaqësues kombëtar prej 2500 të anketuarish. Ky është viti i tetë i realizimit të tij duke përdorur një metodologji, pyetësor dhe mbulim kombëtar të ngjashëm. Raporti i gjetjeve të sondazhit përfshin jo vetëm të dhëna vjetore por dhe një vështrim mbi trendin ndër vite. Ai u ofron të gjithë aktorëve në Shqipëri për analiza dhe ndërmarjen e përmirësimeve.

Për shumë institucione të vlerësuara, duke përfshirë qeverinë qendrore, parlamentin dhe institucionet ndërkombëtare, trendi ndër vite tregon se niveli i besimit u rrit midis viteve 2015 dhe 2017 por u ul midis viteve 2017 dhe 2020.

Teksa niveli i besimit në sistemin gjyqësor (prokuroria dhe gjykatat) është rritur krahasuar mt e vitin 2017, këto institucione perceptohen më rrallë si të besueshme.

Gjetjet e sondazhit të vitit 2020 tregojnë se institucionet fetare (69.8%) konsiderohen si institucionet më të besuara vendase, pasuar nga institucionet arsimore (54.1%), organizatat e shoqërisë civile (52.6%) dhe forcat e armatosura (54%). Organizatat ndërkombëtare, si NATO, OKB dhe BE, renditen si institucionet më të besuara.

Duke pasur parasysh rrethanat e jashtëzakonshme që erdhën si pasojë e tërmetit të vitit 2019 dhe pandemisë, këtë vit Sondazhi i Opinionit Publik "Besimi në Qeverisje 2020" pyeti shqiptarët mbi menaxhimin nga ana e qeverisë e të dyja fatkeqësive natyrore. 37.9% e shqiptarëve thanë se ishin të kënaqur me reagimin e hershëm të qeverisë qendrore në periudhën post-tërmet dhe 37.5% me atë të qeverisë vendore.

Ndërkohë, 40.3% e të anketuarve raportuan se ishin “të kënaqur” ose “shumë të kënaqur” me transparencën e vendimmarrjes së qeverisjes qendrore, 43.7% u shprehën se ishin të kënaqur me ofrimin e alternativave elektronike në marrjen e shërbimeve dhe 34.5% me respektin e treguar ndaj të drejtave dhe lirive të njeriut përgjatë pandemisë COVID-19.

Sondazhi “Besimi në qeverisje” tregon se krahasuar me vitin 2019, perceptimi qytetar për transparencën dhe llogaridhënien në nivel qendror ashtu edhe vendor është rritur. 34.6% e shqiptarëve e perceptojnë qeverinë qendrore si transparente dhe 36.8% e perceptojnë bashkinë e tyre si transparente. Për sa i përket llogaridhënies, 34.5% e shqiptarëve e perceptojnë qeverinë qendrore si të përgjegjshme (që jep llogari), teksa 36.6% e konsiderojnë bashkinë e tyre si të përgjegjshme. Ende, shumica e shqiptarëve nuk e perceptojnë qeverinë si transparente ose llogaridhënëse.  

Qytetarët shqiptarë besojnë se organizatat ndërkombëtare (74.5%) janë më efikase në kërkesën e llogarisë ndaj qeverisë në krahasim me institucionet vendase. Ndër to renditet i pari Kontrolli i Lartë i Shtetit (60.7%), i ndjekur nga Media (52.8%) dhe Parlamenti (48.1%).

Krahasuar me vitin 2016 dhe 2017, sipas gjetjeve, Parlamenti, Partitë Opozitare, Avokati i Popullit dhe Media perceptohen më pak efektive në kërkesën e llogarisë ndaj qeverisë. Secili prej mekanizmave të llogaridhënies ka humbur të paktën 10 pikë përqindjeje krahasuar me vitin 2016.

Për më tepër, pjesa më e madhe e qytetarëve shqiptarë e perceptojnë korrupsionin e nivelit të ulët (86.7%) dhe korrupsionin e nivelit të lartë (84.1%) si fenomene të përhapura ose shumë të përhapura në shoqërinë shqiptare. Të pyetur mbi përvojat personale, në vitin 2020, 22.7% e shqiptarëve shprehen se kanë qenë dëshmitarë të korrupsionit në nivel qendror dhe 15.3% në nivel vendor.

Në lidhje me ofrimin e shërbimeve publike, mesatarisht 38% e shqiptarëve janë të kënaqur ose shumë të kënaqur me shërbimet publike bazë në vitin 2020, pavarësisht kufizimeve të pandemisë. Shërbimet e arsimit publik (48.6%) dhe shërbimet e pastrimit (48.5%) konsiderohen si më të kënaqshmet, teksa ofrimi i shërbimeve gjyqësore (19.6%), transporti publik (32.4%), dhe shërbimet policore (32.6%) si më pak të kënaqshme.

Në lidhje me shërbimet publike administrative, perceptimi i publikut është i ndryshëm në varësi të faktit nëse është përdorues apo jo. Kështu, mesatarisht 32.8% e shqiptarëve e vlerësojnë ofrimin e shërbimeve administrative si të kënaqshëm, shifër e cila rritet në 44.7% mes atyre që i kanë përdorur këto shërbime. Ndërkohë, 73.4% e qytetarëve që kanë vizituar një sportel shërbimi të ADISA-s (Agjencia e Ofrimit të Shërbimeve Publike të Integruara) ishin “të kënaqur” ose “shumë të kënaqur” me shërbimet e ofruara atje.

Në aspektin e përfshirjes gjinore në qeverisje, shumica e qytetarëve shqiptarë (79.6%) thonë se gratë janë po aq ta afta sa edhe burrat për të mbajtur poste publike. Kështu shprehen 85.2% ndër të anketuarat dhe 73.8% ndër të anketuarit. Të dhënat, gjithashtu, tregojnë se 62% e shqiptarëve mendojnë se rritja e numrit të grave në këshillat bashkiakë ka një ndikim pozitiv në qeverisjen vendore.

Znj. Limya Eltayeb, Përfaqësuese e Përhershme e UNDP-së në Shqipëri tha se: “UNDP e ka mbështetur kryerjen e sondazhit të opinionit publik ‘Besimi në Qeverisje’ që prej fillimit të tij në vitin 2013 si një kontribut ndaj zgjerimit të vlerave themelore të transparencës, llogaridhënies dhe angazhimit qytetar të mishëruara nga Partneriteti për Qeverisjen e Hapur, të cilit Shqipëria iu bashkua në dhjetor të vitit 2012. Instrumente si sondazhi i opinionit publik ‘Besimi në Qeverisje’ ndihmojnë në kuptimin më të mirë të sfidave dhe nxisin ndryshimet e nevojshme, qofshin ato të lidhura me besimin në institucione, antikorrupsionin dhe mbështetjen e zhvillimeve të vazhdueshme për transparencë e llogaridhënie, apo nxitjen e pjesëmarrjes qytetare drejt objektivit të bashkë-krijimit”.

Sondazhi i Opinionit Publik, i nisur fillimisht në kuadër të Partneritetit për Qeverisjen e Hapur, është zhvilluar çdo vit nga Instituti për Demokraci dhe Ndërmjetësim (IDM) nga viti 2013, me mbështetjen e UNDP. Edicioni i vitit 2020 u realizua në kuadër të projektit “Konsolidimi i shërbimeve publike me në qendër qytetarin në Shqipëri” (CSDA), një fond i përbashkët donatorësh, i cili zbatohet nga qeveria shqiptare në partneritet me UNDP-në dhe me Bashkëpunimin Austriak për Zhvillim (ADC) si kontribuues kryesor, bashkë me UNDP-në.

 

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Albania 
Go to UNDP Global