Tirana, Capitol of Albania

The findings of the “Trust in Governance 2019” Opinion Poll were presented today in Tirana. They explore public perceptions on issues such as: trust in public institutions, institutional transparency and accountability, corruption, the level of citizen engagement in policy and decision-making, satisfaction with public service delivery, and enforcement of non-discriminatory laws and policies.

The “Trust in Governance 2019” Opinion Poll edition was conducted the months of November-December 2019, using a randomly selected nationally representative sample of 2500 respondents. This is its seventh annual edition employing a similar methodology, questionnaire and national coverage.

For most institutions in focus, including the central government, parliament and international institutions, the trend across the years shows that the level of trust increased between 2015 and 2017, but decreased between 2017 and 2019.

Whereas, the level of trust in the judicial system (prosecution and courts) has increased over the past few years, although these institutions are perceived least often as trustworthy.

The 2019 opinion poll findings show that the most trusted institutions are the religious institutions (65.6%), followed by the Army (59.4%), the Police (54.6%), educational institutions (57.3%), and healthcare institutions (51.4%).

International institutions/organizations like NATO, the UN, and the EU rank as the most trusted institutions by the vast majority of Albanian citizens.

The opinion poll indicates a decline in the perception of Albanian citizens regarding the transparency and accountability by central as well as local government. Thus, between 2016 and 2019, the perceived decline in transparency is 6 percentage points for the central government (33% in 2019) and 7 percentage points for local government (36% in 2019)

Since 2017, the proportion of Albanians who perceive the government as accountable has declined by 11 p.p. for local government and 8 p.p. for the central government (31% for both in 2019).

2019 data indicate that the Albanian citizens believe that international organizations (78.9%) are more effective at holding the government to account than any domestic institution, among which the Supreme State Audit Institution (63.7%) ranks first followed by the Parliament (53.4%). During 2016 – 2019, the Supreme State Audit has remained the highest ranked institution in terms of effectiveness of government accountability. In the last two years, the assessment has stayed nearly the same for the Media, Parliament, and Organizations of Civil Society, followed by the Anti-discrimination Commissioner, labor unions and businesses.

Whereas the role of the Ombudsman and opposition parties in holding the government accountable has declined during 2016 - 2019. The perception by Albanian citizens for the Ombudsman has changed as follows over these years: 54% (2016), 65% (2017), 59% (2018) and 44% (2019). For the opposition parties the fluctuations over the years are: 51% (2016), 54% (2017), 43% (2018) and 42% (2019).

Additionally, most Albanian citizens perceive petty corruption (87.5%) and grand corruption (85.2%) as widespread or very widespread phenomena in Albanian society. Asked about personal experiences, in 2019, 15% of the Albanian population has personally witnessed government corruption at the central level and 25.2% at the local level.

In terms of the delivery of public services, including core services (such as health, education, water supply, cleaning, etc.) and administrative services (in the area of property, social insurance, business services, etc.), on average less than half consider the situation as satisfactory. However, when people used an administrative service in 2019, they were substantially more satisfied than the average, with a difference of nearly 10 per cent. At the same time, 70% of citizens who have visited an ADISA service windows (Agency for the Delivery of Integrated Services in Albania) were ‘satisfied’ or ‘very satisfied’ with the service provided there.

As regards gender, most Albanian citizens (76.5%) say that women are just as capable as men in holding any public position. Data indicate that 6 in 10 Albanians think that an increased number of women in the municipal councils would have a positive impact in local governance.

Mrs. Limya Eltayeb, UNDP Albania Permanent Representative said that: “Trust in Governance” is an instrument that identifies the trend of public trust and perceptions on governance in Albania across the years. It provides significant insights for policy, intervention planning and implementation and assessing their results on the ground. For 2020, considering the emergency situation due to COVID-19 and addressing the aftermath of the November 2019 earthquake, this opinion poll becomes even more relevant to help understand better the challenges and drive the necessary changes from the citizens’ perspective.”

The Opinion Poll, initially launched in the framework of the Open Government Partnership, is carried out on an annual basis by the Institute for Democracy and Mediation (IDM) from 2013, with support by UNDP.

Since 2016, this poll has been conducted in the framework of the ISDA Support Project (Support for Innovation against Corruption: Building a Citizen-Centric Service Delivery Model in Albania), financed by the Government of Italy, Government of Austria and UNDP, and implemented by the Government of Albanian in partnership with UNDP.

Versioni shqip:

Prezantohen gjetjet e sondazhit “Besimi në qeverisje 2019”

U prezantuan sot në Tiranë gjetjen e  sondazhit “Besimi në Qeverisje 2019”, i cili mblodhi dhe analizoi perceptimin publik në çështje si: besimi në institucionet publike, transparenca dhe llogaridhënia institucionale, korrupsioni, niveli i përfshirjes qytetare në politikëbërje dhe vendimmarrje, kënaqshmëria me ofrimin e shërbimeve publike dhe zbatimi i ligjeve dhe politikave për mbrojtjen nga diskriminimi.

Sondazhi “Besimi në Qeverisje 2019” u krye gjatë muajve nëntor-dhjetor 2019, duke përdorur një kampion përfaqësues kombëtar prej 2500 të anketuarish. Ky është viti i shtatë i realizimit të tij duke përdorur një metodologji, pyetësor dhe mbulim kombëtar të ngjashëm.

Për shumë institucione të vlerësuara, duke përfshirë qeverinë qendrore, parlamentin dhe institucionet ndërkombëtare, trendi ndër vite tregon se niveli i besimit është rritur midis viteve 2015 dhe 2017 dhe është ulur midis viteve 2017 dhe 2019.

Ndërsa niveli i besimit në gjyqësor (prokuroria dhe gjykatat) është rritur përgjatë viteve të fundit, edhe pse këto institucione perceptohen si më pak të besuara.

Gjetjet e sondazhit të vitit 2019 tregojnë se institucionet që gëzojnë besimin më të madh janë institucionet fetare (65.6%), ndjekur nga forcat e armatosura (59.4%), Policia e Shtetit (54.6%), institucionet arsimore (57.3%) dhe sistemi shëndetësor (51.4%).

Institucionet/organizatat ndërkombëtare si NATO, OKB dhe BE renditen si institucionet më të besuara nga pjesa më e madhe e qytetarëve shqiptarë.

Sondazhi tregon një rënie të perceptimit qytetar ndaj praktikave të transparencës dhe llogaridhënies në nivel qendror ashtu edhe vendor. Konkretisht, përgjatë viteve 2016 dhe 2019, rënia e perceptimit mbi transparencën është me 6 pikë përqindje për qeverisjen qendrore (33% në 2019) dhe me 7 pikë përqindje për qeverisjen vendore (36% në 2019) .

Që prej vitit 2017, përqindja e qytetarëve shqiptarë që perceptojnë e qeverinë si llogaridhënëse ka rënë me 11 pikë përqindje për qeverisjen vendore dhe me 8 pikë përqindje për qeverisjen qendrore (31% në 2019 për të dyja) .

Të dhënat për vitin 2019 tregojnë se qytetarët shqiptarë besojnë se organizatat ndërkombëtare (78.9%) janë më efikase për llogaridhënien nga qeveria në krahasim me institucionet në vend, ndër të cilat renditet i pari Kontrolli i Lartë i Shtetit (63.7%) i ndjekur nga Parlamenti (53.4%). Përgjatë viteve 2016 - 2019, Kontrolli i Lartë i Shtetit ka mbetur institucioni me vlerësimin më të lartë lidhur me efikasitetin e kërkesës së llogarisë ndaj qeverisë. Posaçërisht në dy vitet e fundit, ky vlerësim ka qëndruar afërsisht i njëjtë për Median, Parlamentin dhe Organizatat e Shoqërisë Civile, të ndjekura nga Komisioneri për Mbrojtjen nga Diskriminimi, sindikatat dhe bizneset.

Ndërsa roli në kërkesën e llogarisë ndaj qeverisë nga Avokati i Popullit dhe partitë e opozitës ka pësuar rënie përgjatë viteve 2016 - 2019. Për Avokatin e Popullit perceptimi qytetar ndër vite ka pësuar këto ndryshime: 54% (2016), 65% (2017), 59% (2018) dhe 44% (2019). Për partitë e opozitës luhatjet ndër vite janë: 51% (2016), 54% (2017), 43% (2018) dhe 42% (2019).

Gjithashtu, për vitin 2019, të dhënat tregojnë se pjesa më e madhe e qytetarëve shqiptarë e perceptojnë korrupsionin e nivelit të ulët (87.5%) dhe korrupsionin e nivelit të lartë (85.2%) si fenomene të përhapura ose shumë të përhapura në shoqërinë shqiptare. Të pyetur mbi përvojat personale, në vitin 2019, 15% e shqiptarëve kanë qenë dëshmitarë të korrupsionit në nivel qendror dhe 25.2% në nivel vendor.

Në lidhje me ofrimin e shërbimeve publike në përgjithësi, si të shërbimeve parësore (si shëndetësia, arsimimi, furnizimi me ujë, pastrimi, etj.) dhe të atyre administrative (në fushën e pronës, sigurimit shoqëror, për biznesin, etj.), mesatarisht, më pak se gjysma e konsiderojnë situatën si të kënaqshme. Megjithatë, kur qytetarët kanë kërkuar e marrë një shërbim administrativ në 2019-n, ata janë përgjithësisht më të kënaqur sesa mesatarja me një diferencë prej pothuaj 10 për qind. Ndërkohë 70% e qytetarëve që kanë vizituar një sportel shërbimi ADISA-Agjencia e Ofrimit të Shërbimeve Publike të Integruara- janë shprehur “të kënaqur” ose “shumë të kënaqur” me shërbimin e ofruar aty.

Në aspektin e përfshirjes gjinore, shumica e qytetarëve (76.5%) thonë se gratë janë po aq ta afta sa edhe burrat për të mbajtur poste publike. Të dhënat tregojnë se 6 nga 10 shqiptarë mendojnë se rritja e numrit të grave në këshillat bashkiakë ka një ndikim pozitiv në qeverisjen vendore.

Znj. Limya Eltayeb, Përfaqësuese e Përhershme e UNDP-së në Shqipëri tha se: “Besimi në qeverisje” është një instrument që identifikon tendencën në vite të besimit dhe perceptimit të qytetarëve mbi qeverisjen në Shqipëri. Ai ofron të dhëna të rëndësishme për orientimin e politikave, planifikimin dhe zbatimin e masave praktike, si dhe për vlerësimin e impaktit të tyre në terren. Për vitin 2020, duke marrë në konsideratë situatën e emergjencës së krijuar nga COVID-19 dhe adresimin e pasojave të tërmetit të nëntorit 2019, ky sondazh i opinionit publik bëhet dhe më i rëndësishëm për të ndihmuar në kuptimin më të mirë të sfidave dhe nxitjen e ndryshimeve të nevojshme nga këndvështrimi i qytetarëve”.

Sondazhi, i iniciuar fillimisht në kuadrin e Partneritetit për Qeverisje të Hapur / Open Government Partnership, realizohet çdo vit nga Instituti për Demokraci dhe Ndërmjetësim (IDM) që prej 2013-s, me mbështetje nga UNDP.

Duke filluar nga viti 2016, sondazhi në fjalë është realizuar në kuadrin e projektit “Mbështetje për inovacionin kundër korrupsionit: Ngritja e një modeli shërbimesh me në qendër qytetarin në Shqipëri” (ISDA Support Project), të financuar nga Qeveria italiane, Qeveria austriake dhe UNDP, si dhe i zbatuar nga Qeveria shqiptare në partneritet me UNDP-në.

Icon of SDG 16

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Albania 
Go to UNDP Global